Our Washington, D.C., station WTOP and our Seattle station KIRO-FM earned high honors this morning, as the Radio – Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) announced the winners of the national 2009 Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in broadcast journalism.

It’s our industry’s highest and most coveted honor and the most prestigious recognition for broadcast news, and WTOP is the recipient of a truly remarkable FIVE Murrow Awards, while KIRO’s Heather Bosch also won a national Murrow for Best Sports Feature, which is her fourth such award in the past five years. Impressive!

WTOP won Murrow awards for: – Feature: Hard News – J.J. Green “Hidden Hunter” – Use of Sound – Brennan Haselton “Cathedral Bells” – Writing – Chris Core “Core Values” – Web site – Entire web staff & WTOP newsroom – Overall Excellence (the big Big One!) – Entire WTOP newsroom plus everybody else at Bonneville DC

“For WTOP,” said Jim Farley, “this is the most national Murrows we have won in history and the first time, ever, we have won the Overall Excellence award. A huge amount of the credit goes to WTOP News Director Mike McMearty. We won the Best Web site award for the second year in a row and the fourth time in seven years.”

Our six (6!) winners will be honored officially at the RTNDA Awards Dinner on October 12 at the Grand Hyatt in New York.

Big Bonneville congratulations, and thanks, go out to Joel Oxley, Jim Farley, Mike McMearty, J.J. Green, Brennan Haselton, Chris Core, Carl Gardner, Rod Arquette, Heather Bosch, and the highly capable and professional staffs at both WTOP and KIRO.